Matthew Loiacono’s second full-length album, “Kentucky” was written and recorded during twenty-two days in February 2008 near Round Lake, NY.

01. Thirteen (for GM)
02. Vaults & Crowns
03. Infinitely Red
04. Modest Birds
05. Only Memory
06. Right Behind You
07. Twelve (for Smoke Detectors)
08. Knee-to-Knee
09. Inside My Grin
10. Through the Night

The album is available through Collar City Records and at all major digital download stores. (Links coming soon…)

PopMatters recently reviewed “Kentucky” and gave it an 8/10 rating while comparing it to Jeremy Egnik and The Books! Read it here.

Here’s what Mogger Edmund Frost Booth had to say about “Kentucky“:

Built upon sparse stringed instrumentation, the occasional single pounding percussion (a la Tom Waits), and sonorous harmonies that float in and out of one another flawlessly married to lyrics that read more like William Carlos Williams poems, his work is fresh and pure. It rejects common sentimentality and instead relies on emotional restraint. All of the songs on Kentucky heighten the sensory experience with articulated common speech, flawless melodies, and the simple notion that lost joys are never lost for long.

The Saratogian says:

If you took heavy guitar lines from Radiohead, added beautiful vocal harmonies from Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, and mixed in some mandolin from David Grisman, you would only begin to construct the artistic beauty of Matthew Loiacono’s new album “Kentucky.” It may seem curious to throw these three ingredients into one bowl, but he makes it work. The vocal melody on his track “Modest Birds” is reminiscent of the Shins, but his own unique blend of a quiet mandolin, distorted guitar, and unusually distant drums brings this song to new, artistic heights.

Scott Avett says:


Upcoming Shows

No shows booked at the moment.

Sign up for the Matthew Carefully Email List

Photos on flickr

© 2014 Matthew Carefully. Powered by WordPress.

Daily Edition Theme by WooThemes - Premium WordPress Themes